Tags

, , , , ,

A Touch of Manga

For a few years I attended something called a “portrait group”, where artists basically pool their resources to hire models and pay rent to the location where they meet. It was one of the most intensive learning experiences that I’ve ever had. I had to overcome being nervous about what other artists would think about my work, and learn to draw from real, 3-D , LIFE, as opposed to using a photo for reference. It improved my drawing skills tremendously, as well as allowing me to meet some interesting & nice people.

Last spring my friend Rachel, an adorable 18 yr. old,  modeled for us, wearing her favorite style; “manga”. ( I didn’t know what manga was before she educated me. She being an artist herself, is fond of drawing characters in this cartooning style. )

NOTE: All images and text in this post are Copyright K. A. Renninger 2011. I am more than happy to have you share them through your own blog, and hope you will do so—but you must give me credit. Anyone who uses them to make money will be prosecuted.


