Tags

, , , , , ,

Unusual Bird's Nest

When I have occasion to use the local laundromat, I try to make good use of the time by taking a walk while my clothes dry. The ‘mat is bordered by woods and a wetlands area, so Nature usually has something to offer up for a photo or observation. This time I noticed a bird’s nest with a strange, white, fiber-y material woven into it. It looked puzzlingly familiar; then it hit me that it was simply well-weathered pieces of dryer sheet! Now, this bird was either smart enough to know that these sheets repel ticks,  or she just thought it looked like a nice soft piece of “something” to include in the nest. ( The latter, more than likely.)

At any rate, I snapped a photo. Later, during a casual-but-lengthy phone conversation, I used it as a reference to do this sketch. The substrate is paper from a hardback, spiral bound notebook by Master’s Touch. It has a nice texture, and is an ivory or pale cream-color–(which does not show in this image because it was scanned in grayscale). Graphitone water-soluble pencils were used ( without any water) , a stump for blending, and a bit of charcoal pencil ( soft grade) , to get the darkest darks.

When I first finished this sketch,  I asked my husband’s opinion on it becuase something seemed “off” to me. He said he got the impression it was a condor (or maybe a pterodactyl) nest in a tree! Removing some of the many tiny twigs I had mistakenly put on the ends of the shrub’s branches helped get it back in scale.

NOTE: All images and text in this post are Copyright K. A. Renninger 2011. I am more than happy to have you share them through your own blog, and hope you will do so—but you must give me credit. Anyone who uses them to make money will be prosecuted.


