Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Smokehouse on Old Farm

I’ve passed this building many times but never noticed it until the light was right. Sometimes on an overcast day, things will stand out more because your eye is not confused by patches of light and shadow. ( That’s my theory, anyway.)

I judged this to be a smokehouse &  not an out kitchen because of the distance from the house. The latter is usually closer than this was. What caught my eye originally was the over-sized brick and stone chimney, but I decided to give this more inclusive view a try . (The chimney end will be a future post, hopefully.)

I used a 3B  graphite pencil for the overall foundation sketch and an 8B for the darker areas. Some details were added with an HB. It was done on a smooth board, which I believe is Strathmore hot press illustration board.

NOTE: All images and text in this post are Copyright K. A. Renninger 2011. I am happy to have you share them through your own blog, and hope you will do so— but you must give me credit. Anyone who uses them to make money will be prosecuted. 

