Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Brick & Stone Chimney on Smokehouse

Smokehouse on Old Farm

This is a follow-up to the previous post, “Smokehouse” . The chimney was what had caught my eye originally; it was so unusual , being constructed of two different materials, & rather large in comparison with the building. It was a “bear” to draw all those bricks, but worth it, I think. I don’t subscribe to the school of thought that advocates drawing or painting a “suggestion” of a surface or texture. I’d rather draw every brick & then smudge some of them out for variety.

Landscapes have never been my favorite thing to do, but I am finding I like to put a little bit of scenery around my buildings. It seems to evoke the offbeat charm of an overcast winter day for me, embodied in the dry grass , bare trees, and subtle colors.

This was done largely in 2 and 3B graphite pencils, with some 9B in the darker areas, & 4B Graphitone ( water-soluble graphite pencil ) for the grass. Even without using water, these pencils give a slightly different, softer look than regular graphite. An H graphite pencil was used to get the tinier branches on the background trees.

On Strathmore “Drawing”  (tablet).

NOTE: All images and text in this post are Copyright K. A. Renninger 2011. I am happy to have you share them through your own blog, and hope you will do so— but you must give me credit. Anyone who uses them to make money will be prosecuted. 

