Tags

, , , , , , ,

The story behind the sketch:

A money plant appeared, seeded from goodness-knows where, among the catnip patch. Never having really studied one in its early stages before, I was intrigued by the very smooth, sturdy green pods which I am used to seeing in their fall form; a light grey-brown casing in which lies the pearlescent “coin”.

Due to bad weather on the usual panting-out days, I hadn’t done anything from life for a while. Armed with my trusty hard-bound sketchbook ( which I would recommend every artist have) I sat down and got some real-life practice in.

my experience in doing this sketch:

I had always thought of the coins as being ovals, but realized how many angles actually comprise those ovals. It was hard to get all the details in this tiny ( no more than 3 x 5 “) sketch, but I did my best to capture the wonderful thin burgundy-colored outlines around the green pods, as well as some of the veining on the petals .

I really like colored pencil ; it’s neat, clean & easy to use, and with the addition of a colorless blending pencil, it’s easy to get a smooth look in areas where you don’t want the paper to show through. I chose to use both blended & un-blended areas in this drawing to capture the variety of textures.

The technical stuff:

Prismacolor, UltraColor, & Crayola pencils were used. A soft white eraser helped in a couple of spots. An old fashioned typing eraser ( made like a pencil with a brush on the other end) is great because it’s a little more abrasive, but these are getting very hard to find anymore. Paper: Masters Touch spiral-bound sketchbook. Sold at Hobby Lobby. A pretty versatile paper.

NOTE: All images and text in this post are Copyright K. A. Renninger 2011. I am more than happy to have you share them through your own blog, and hope you will do so—but you must give me credit. Anyone who uses them to make money will be prosecuted.


