Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Water-soluble Colored Pencil drawing at Renfrew

Water-soluble Colored Pencil drawing at Renfrew


The story behind the sketch:

Recently, my painting group visited Renfrew, a wonderful park and restored farm from the 1700’s, just outside Waynesboro, PA.  http://www.renfrewmuseum.org/about_renfrew.html

While the old outbuildings beckoned to me; the clear sunny day with all its color sent my head & heart to a place of fantasy. I put away my graphite sketch pencils & got out my water-soluble colored ones, in hope of capturing what the day made me feel.

My experience in doing this sketch:

Using these pencils starts, for me at least, with sketching out what I want to include in the scene, followed by lightly coloring-in some areas that I intend to touch with a wet brush. Often after wetting, I add detail with the pencil.  I found that ,with this picture,  once I had colored & brushed everything in, the picture lacked impact. So I took the unorthodox approach of outlining the flowers & other things in the foreground with a dark gray pencil. This perked it right up!

The technical stuff

Canson XL Watercolor paper ( an inexpensive paper), was used. Eberhard Faber Mongol water-souluble colored pencils were  used to sketch-in most of the picture. These less-expensive pencils are fine but sometimes produce fairly light colors. So more intense ones were added with Derwent Inktense water-soluble pencils. Now, I’m told that the color in these pencils is not watercolor, but ink. I don’t know , technically , what the difference is, but they do produce a brighter , richer, color than the Mongol pencils.

If anyone has had experience with using any type of water-soluble colored pencil, I welcome your input on the subject.

